Sep 6

● VMware version:VMware vCenter Server 5.5.0
● vSphere Client Version:vSphere Client 5.5.0
● SSH tools:pietty
Continue browsing »

Sep 5

● VMware version:VMware vCenter Server 5.5.0
● vSphere Client Version:vSphere Client 5.5.0
 
 
Continue browsing »

Aug 17

The recent succession Server virtualization,TIPTOP part which I toss more than a week to complete,So to be a record。
Continue browsing »

Aug 10

Recently doing a P2V Server,Win2000 situation compared to other newer version a lot more,Encountered a problem which is specific to Windows 2000 VM,After installing VMware Tools are still unable to find Intel E1000 network card driver,Internet search abroad was also encountered the same problem,Some may Win2000,Some not。
Continue browsing »

Jul 17

Yesterday, try adding a third VM Host HA,While functioning,But there is a Integrated Lights Out 4 (iL04) (Active)Warning message,Expand will see if the IP is 0.0.0.0 iLo,ILo have set the IP impression,Puzzled how can this warning。

Continue browsing »

Jun 4

Today, under the VM you want to install Windows Server 2012 When R2,Failed BIOS Lock out of the error message,HP relationship should look like random limited edition,This change would like to catch a lot of the Authorized Version and then enter the random version number to see,But think not,The original authorization have said can be installed in a VM,Should not therefore no solution fishes,Later, the Internet search,Soon found solution,In the VM can only add parameters。

Continue browsing »

Sea 22

Last night for the first time through the Web, even into the vCenter Server Appliance,After a look at Information,Can be found directly through the Web patch update,They point down。After the update,Screen display needs to reopen,After restarting the vCenter Server Appliance,Will appear”NO NETWORKING DETECTED. PLEASE LOGIN AND RUN THE COMMAND /opt/vmware/share/vami/vami_config_net TO CONFIGURE THE NETWORK”Error message。

Continue browsing »

Sea 22

Try to put through a physical vCenter Converter Server Virtualization,Has been present in the last step”The object has already been deleted or has not been completely created”Error message,Internet to climb a lot of text,I felt my situation is different,Transfer log can not see what they were,After repeated testing and then the details of,Finally find out the reason makes me a little dumbfounded。

Continue browsing »

Sea 9
VMware notes
icon1 Anson | icon2 VM | icon4 03 9th, 2018| icon1 2,543 views | icon3No Comments »

【vSphere HA】
When vSphere HA fault damage must occur ESXi host,In the only other surviving HA Cluster ESXi host,Will be stored in the shared storage resources of the virtual host VM restart。

If the underlying ESXi host failure damage incident did not happen,But within vCenter Server Hosting service stops when the operation itself,So vSphere HA high availability mechanisms are not helpful。 (It can make up by Watchdog)

【Watchdog】(6.0More than just support,Automatically enabled by default)
vCenter Server 6.0 adds "Watchdog" monitoring mechanism,When a fault event occurs while the operation of the service stopped working,When the former occurs twice,Watchdog will attempt to restart the service,If the third time is still unable to restart the service,VM virtual host will be restarted。

【參考連結】

——
【VMware Data Recovery】
VMware Data Recovery (vDR) belong to the Disk-based backup,Is simple and easy to deploy features (because it is also a virtual host),Support Windows VSS (Volume Shadow Copy) backup,Also supports simple deduplication function (Data De-duplication)。

However, this backup tool has the following limitations related functions:

·Backup environment must have the vCenter Server,Can use this backup tool。
·Disk-based belong,Or can not use the File Level Block Level backup。
·Each vDR can only back up 100 virtual host。
·Not work on IPv6 network environment。
·Only supports backup operations Windows operating system (Windows 2000 / XP / Vista / 7、Windows Server 2003/2008) Web Hosting,Does not support other operating systems,Such as Linux、Solaris, etc. Web Hosting。

【參考連結】

——
【VMware Fault Tolerance】
Web Hosting have a short downtime VMware HA mechanism to start if the company can not accept,The VMware FT may be a solution to the problem,But Enable VMware FT There are many prerequisites,For example, the virtual host can not take a snapshot (Snapshot)、Stoarge vMotion feature can not be used、The virtual host can only use one vCPU conditions, etc.。

VMware FT mechanism will be on two different were established Primary and Secondary Host Web Hosting,And the use of information technology to VMkernel Port vLockstep on the ESX / ESXi Host to transfer Primary Secondary virtual host to the virtual host,But the Secondary will not write the actual behavior of I / O。

When ESX / ESXi Host Primary fault damage which the virtual host,The Secondary virtual host will immediately take over the relevant job,Primary and become virtual host,At this time will be on another ESX / ESXi Host,Re-establish a new Secondary virtual host to synchronize data with the Primary Web Hosting

【總結】
·vMotion/DRS:This mechanism for "Project of" downtime for,For example when the ESX / ESXi Host entity server occur memory、Hard drive failure,Or when need be shut down for firmware (Firmware) update and annual maintenance,This work is scheduled good plan can use this technique,Will work on the virtualization platform of Web Hosting,Migrate to other stations ESX / ESXi Host,So that enterprises can maintain physical host in the case of service without interruption。

·HA / FT:This mechanism is suitable for "non-program of" downtime。When ESX / ESXi Host server entity without power system problems when power failure,When the host entity or motherboard damage leads to physical host to malfunctions of these non-human factors of non-fault condition occurs plan,Through this mechanism can automatically migrate to the virtual hosts on other stations ESX / ESXi Host to continue the operation of the boot。

But it is important that,These mechanisms are merely protecting ESX / ESXi Host Level level only,Rather than the virtual host operating system level (OS Level),As well as applications on the operating system level (Application Level)。

VMware HA mechanisms such as the previously mentioned,When ESX / ESXi Host fault damage,Equal to its operations on virtual hosts and it was improper shutdown,Although virtual host can be turned on again on another table Host,But it's possible the virtual host operating system has been shut down because of improper operation caused damage to the system,So even if you have migrated to other units on the Host,Success can not be a smooth start,So the backup job its necessity operating system。

The VMware FT mechanism is to make two virtual hosts operate exactly the same data,Therefore, if the situation when the crash occurred Primary Web Hosting,For example, the Windows operating system crash occurs blue screen (Blue Screen Of Death,BSOD),Because this time will vLockstep synchronization mechanisms,Secondary and makes the virtual machine host system when the situation also occurred。

As for application-level protection mechanisms,Currently, there are many manufacturers develop mechanisms,For example Application HA Symantec with Veritas Cluster technology development,Is to protect the application to run on a virtual host,Such as MSSQL、Exchange、Oracle、SAP, etc.。

【參考連結】

—–
【VMware DRS】
The auto-load the host entity , Automatic scheduling virtual location system , That is, when a higher host load station entity , Through DRS can be part of the subsystem through VMotion to move to a lightly loaded host entities。

Aug 9

VMware  昨天機房跳電後,Wherein when a VM using vSphere Client Connection,Appearance”cannot reach some of the management network addresses of other hosts and thus HA may not able to restart VMs if a host failure occur”。

Continue browsing »

9 月 6

● VMware版本:VMware vCenter Server 5.5.0
● vSphere Client版本:vSphere Client 5.5.0
● SSH工具:pietty
繼續瀏覽 »

9 月 5

● VMware版本:VMware vCenter Server 5.5.0
● vSphere Client版本:vSphere Client 5.5.0
 
 
繼續瀏覽 »

8 月 17

  近期陸續將Server進行虛擬化,其中TIPTOP部份折騰了我一個多禮拜才完成,因此做個紀錄。
繼續瀏覽 »

8 月 10

  最近在做Server的P2V,Win2000的狀況相對於其他較新的版本多出不少,其中遇到一個問題是特定的Windows 2000 VM,在安裝完VMware Tools後仍無法搜尋到Intel E1000的網卡驅動程式,上網查國外也有人遇到一樣問題,有的Win2000可以,有的不行。
繼續瀏覽 »

7 月 17

  昨天試著將第三台VM Host加入HA,雖然運作正常,但有個Integrated Lights Out 4 (iL04) (Active)的警告訊息,展開的話會看見iLo的IP都是0.0.0.0,印象iLo有設定IP,不解怎會有此警告。

繼續瀏覽 »

6 月 4

  今天在VM底下要安裝Windows Server 2012 R2時,跳出Failed BIOS Lock的錯誤訊息,看起來應該是HP隨機版限制的關係,本想說改抓大量授權版再輸入隨機版序號看看,但想想不對,當初授權就有說可以裝在VM了,不應該因此無解才對,後來上網搜尋,很快就找到解法,只須在VM加上參數即可。

繼續瀏覽 »

3 月 22

  昨晚第一次透過Web連進vCenter Server Appliance,看一看相關資訊後,發現可直接透過Web做update修補,便點了下去。更新完後,畫面顯示需要重開,把vCenter Server Appliance重啟後,便出現”NO NETWORKING DETECTED. PLEASE LOGIN AND RUN THE COMMAND /opt/vmware/share/vami/vami_config_net TO CONFIGURE THE NETWORK”的錯誤訊息。

繼續瀏覽 »

3 月 22

  試著透過vCenter Converter把一台實體Server虛擬化,卻在最後的步驟一直出現”The object has already been deleted or has not been completely created”的錯誤訊息,上網爬了不少文,感覺跟我狀況都不同,調 log 也看不出個所以然,再細部的反覆測試後,總算找出讓我有點傻眼的原因。

繼續瀏覽 »

3 月 9
VMware 筆記
icon1 Anson | icon2 VM | icon4 03 9th, 2018| icon1 3,951 views | icon3No Comments »

【vSphere HA】
vSphere HA必須在ESXi主機發生故障損壞事件時,才會在HA Cluster中其他存活的ESXi主機,將存放在共享儲存資源中的VM虛擬主機重新啟動。

若是底層的ESXi主機並未發生故障損壞事件,而是vCenter Server虛擬主機內本身所運作的服務停止的時候,那麼vSphere HA高可用性機制是幫不上忙的。 (故可以靠Watchdog補足)

【Watchdog】(6.0以上才支援,預設情況會自動啟用)
vCenter Server 6.0新增了「Watchdog」監控機制,當運作的服務發生故障事件而停止運作,前2次發生時,Watchdog會嘗試重新啟動服務,倘若第3次仍無法重新啟動服務,便會將VM虛擬主機重新啟動。

【參考連結】

——
【VMware Data Recovery】
VMware Data Recovery(vDR)屬於Disk-based的備份方式,具有簡單操作及容易部署的特性(因為它也是一台虛擬主機),支援Windows VSS(Volume Shadow Copy)備份方式,也支援簡單的重複資料刪除功能(Data De-duplication)。

但是此備份工具有如下的相關功能限制:

·備份環境中必須具備vCenter Server,才可使用此備份工具。
·屬於Disk-based,因此無法使用File Level或Block Level備份方式。
·每台vDR僅能備份100台虛擬主機。
·無法運作於IPv6網路環境上。
·僅支援備份運作Windows作業系統(Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7、Windows Server 2003/2008)的虛擬主機,不支援其他作業系統,如Linux、Solaris等虛擬主機。

【參考連結】

——
【VMware Fault Tolerance】
如果企業無法接受VMware HA機制啟動時虛擬主機有短暫的停機時間,則VMware FT可能是一個解決的方案,但是啟用VMware FT有許多先決條件,例如該虛擬主機不能進行快照(Snapshot)、無法使用Stoarge vMotion功能、該虛擬主機只能使用一個vCPU等等條件限制。

VMware FT機制會於2台不同的Host上分別建立Primary和Secondary虛擬主機,並且採用vLockstep技術以ESX/ESXi Host上的VMkernel Port來傳送Primary虛擬主機的資料至Secondary虛擬主機上,但是Secondary不會有實際I/O的寫入行為。

當Primary虛擬主機所處的ESX/ESXi Host故障損壞時,則Secondary虛擬主機會馬上接手相關作業,並且成為Primary虛擬主機,此時會在另一台ESX/ESXi Host上,再度建立一台新的Secondary虛擬主機來與Primary虛擬主機同步資料

【總結】
·vMotion/DRS:此機制適合用於「計畫性」停機,例如當ESX/ESXi Host實體伺服器發生記憶體、硬碟故障,或者需要停機進行韌體(Firmware)更新及歲修時,這種排定好的計畫性工作可以使用此技術,將運作於虛擬化平台上的虛擬主機,遷移到其他台ESX/ESXi Host上,讓企業可在服務不中斷的情況下維修實體主機。

·HA/FT:此機制為適合用於「非計畫性」停機。當ESX/ESXi Host實體伺服器電力系統出問題而不當斷電,或者實體主機的主機板損壞導致實體主機故障而這些非人為因素損壞之非計畫性故障狀況發生時,透過此機制可以使虛擬主機自動遷移到其他台ESX/ESXi Host上繼續開機運作。

但很重要的一點是,這些機制都僅僅是保護ESX/ESXi Host Level層級而已,而並非虛擬主機的作業系統層級(OS Level),以及作業系統上的應用程式層級(Application Level)。

例如先前提到的VMware HA機制,當ESX/ESXi Host故障損壞時,等於運作於其上的虛擬主機也是被不當關機,雖然虛擬主機可以在其他台Host上再度開機,但很有可能虛擬主機的作業系統已經因為不當關機而造成作業系統損壞,因此即使已經遷移到別台Host上,也無法順利開機成功,所以作業系統的備份作業有其必要性。

而VMware FT機制是讓2台虛擬主機資料一模一樣進行運作,因此若是Primary虛擬主機發生當機的狀況時,例如Windows作業系統發生藍色當機畫面(Blue Screen Of Death,BSOD),此時將會因為vLockstep同步機制,而使得Secondary虛擬主機也發生系統當機的狀況。

至於應用程式層級的保護機制,目前也有許多廠商研發相關機制,例如Symantec以Veritas Cluster技術開發的Application HA,便是可以保護虛擬主機上運作的應用程式,如MSSQL、Exchange、Oracle、SAP等等。

【參考連結】

—–
【VMware DRS】
自動根據實體主機的負載 , 自動調度虛擬系統的位置 , 也就是當某台實體主機負載較高 , 可以透過 DRS 將部份子系統透過 VMotion 搬到負載較輕的實體主機。

8 月 9

VMware  昨天機房跳電後,其中一台VM在用vSphere Client連線時,出現”cannot reach some of the management network addresses of other hosts and thus HA may not able to restart VMs if a host failure occur”。

繼續瀏覽 »